Questionable and non-Halal Ingredients.

 

All foods are considered Halal except:  Swine / pork and all its by-products or derivatives, Carnivorous animals and birds of prey, Animals not slaughtered according to the Islamic requirements, Blood and blood by-products, Alcohol and other intoxicants, Foods that are contaminated with haram products, Food products and ingredients such as gelatin, enzymes, emulsifiers, etc. are considered Mash-booh and must be evaluated before they can be accepted.

non halal ingredients in whey and diary products
Whey and Diary products

Depends on the enzyme used to curdle the milk. Normally the label does not make any distinction, so the products are suspected.

Check the source !

non halal emulsifiers
Emulsifiers

Commercially available mono and diglycerides may be manufactured from vegetable oil, beef fat or lard.  If not labeled as vegetable, then product is considered suspected.

Check the source !

critical enzymes for Halal production
Enzymes

The source can be animal, plant or microbial. Normally the label does not make any distinction.

Check the source !

flavouring are comples ingredients for halal certification
Flavorings

Complex ingredient (source of all ingredients ?)

glycerine could be from non halal source
Glycerine

No distinction on the label for source of glycerin (animal or vegetable) so any product containing glycerin is also suspected.

Check the source !

culture media could be critical for halal certification
Microbes and Microbial Products

Halal as long as not harmful and not contaminated by najis. If the najis is not pork or pork derivatives that can be separated, the microbes or microbial products become halal after being purified by water. • The use of embryonic chicken eggs as a growth medium is allowed.

halal slaughtering a challenge in Europe
Meat

Authorized animal ?  Halal Slaughtered ?

Check the source !

antioxidants could be from non halal source
Anti-oxidants

Animal or plant source?

Check the source !

Gelatin must be from halal source
Gelatin

No distinction on the label for the source of animal, so any product containing gelatin is Haram or suspected.

Check the source !

animal raw materials must be Halal certifiied
Animal Fat or Protein

Authorized animal ?  Halal Slaughtered ?

Check the source !

alcohol drinks are Haram according to the islamic law
Alcohol drinks 

Alcohol (intoxicants : ethanol) is prohibited in Islam.  There is no allowance for added alcoholic drinks in food, cooking or formulations.

Ethanol
ethanol from non alcoholic beverrage industry could be used as carrier in a flavour

From alcoholic drinks industry :

Haram

From non- alcoholic drinks industry

Allowed , as long as not harmful. 

Ethanol residue :

- maximum 0.1 % in direct consumption product (to maximum 0.5 % depending on the nature of the product)

- max 1% in intermediate product (to be Halal certified)

By Products of Alcoholic Drinks Industry

1. Physically separated from alcoholic drinks and its dérivatives

     Haram – cannot be used at any level

2. Chemically reacted to be a new product :

     Halal

3. Brewer yeast:

    Halal if it’s already washed to remove the beer odor, taste and color  

4. Vinegar:

     Halal   

amino acids are considered as critical materials for halal certification
L-Cysteine and other amino acids

Check the source !

Other ingredients ?

Check the source !

non halal ingredients